Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

October 28, 2011

The path is clear


Moments ago, the Big 12 sent out a press release it would add West Virginia to the conference for the 2012-13 athletic season. The release states league will have ten teams. Missouri is not listed as one of them.

Beginning with the 2012-13 season it is expected that the Big 12 Conference will be comprised of 10 Universities - Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech and West Virginia. The Big 12's footprint will encompass five states with over 36 million people. More than 4,100 student-athletes from across the United States and around the World compete annually in the 23 sports sponsored by the Conference.

Earlier this morning, PowerMizzou.com reported that the Big 12 was drafting a release of Missouri from the league. The Tigers are expected to apply and be accepted to the Southeastern Conference in the coming days.

Read the entire Big 12 release right here.

It is not known at this time if Missouri will make any sort of a statement today, but the path appears clear for the Tigers to make the move to the SEC, as PowerMizzou.com first reported in this story more than a month ago.

Nobody covers the Tigers year-round like PowerMizzou.com. If you are not yet a member, just try out our free trial.

Missouri NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos PowerMizzou.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.